The First Question: Doctor Who?

by bsienk90

Hello Sweeties

This blog, I believe, has come about at the perfect time. During the 50th anniversary of Doctor Who. The YouTube video released by the BBC has us all wondering now about the frist question, one we’ve all heard asked and said, “Doctor Who?”

I’m sure many who are stumbling across this blog already know who the doctor is technically. If you don’t know what Doctor Who is please make yourself at home, and have a cup a tea. I’ll explain the basics of where the show began.

Doctor Who” is a British science fiction show that began on the BBC in 1963. It follows the adventures of the alien named The Doctor and his companions traveling in his spaceship/time machine, the TARDIS (Time and Relative Dimension in Space). The show has been off and on for years. In 2005 it began again as a great success, which is still on going with the 11th Doctor, Matt Smith. The Doctor doesn’t die, but regenerate, which is why there are 11 doctors currently.

That of course is the short, short version. Any fan would go on and on about the finer details, how the show isn’t just a show but the illustration of true friendship, love, bravery, forgiveness, and loss… but I wouldn’t want to spoil the fun. In the end it is an amazing show. The only way to understand the true magnitude of this show is, watch it.

But more back to the point of the 50th anniveristy show coming up. It has been confirmed the Rose (Billie Piper) and the 10th Doctor (David Tennant) will be returning. And it seems the 10th and 11th will be the only returning doctor according to the YouTube video. The 50th Anniversary (as you can see from the video I linked to above) will be released on November 23rd (I see what they did there). “It’s the same story every time and it begins with the same two words, ‘Doctor who?’”

Now, I haven’t watch many of the older shows (got through two, I want to watch more). I began watching the 2005 sieres with the 9th doctor. That is perfectly acceptable. Start from there. You won’t be able to stop watching it.

So, please step into my version of the TARDIS and follow me. More to come soon!

